How to reset my router to factory default setting?

Example: If you forget the password of your router’s configuration interface, you can do a factory reset to return the settings to the factory defaults.
Note: Performing a factory reset will erase all current settings, and this action cannot be undone.

Step 1: With the unit on, use the end of a paperclip to press the reset button for seven seconds, which is located inside a small hole on the base of the unit. The power light on the front of the router will turn orange to indicate that the unit is restarting.

Step 2: The unit will reboot automatically. Once the power light stops blinking, the unit has been reset and is ready to use. Resetting the router does not reset the firmware to the previous version, but it will change all settings back to factory defaults.

Note: The password for the Administrator (Admin) account will be reset to the default. When logging in for the first time after resetting your router, leave the Password field blank and click Log In.

Rank: 2

These may also help:

  • How do I open ports for routers? Read Answer
  • How do I set up and secure my wireless connection ? Read Answer
  • How do I set up website filter on my router? Read Answer
  • How many simultaneous users can my Wi-Fi network handle ? Read Answer
  • How can I check the firmware version of my router ? Read Answer
  • How to clone my PC MAC address to the router? Read Answer
  • How to setup VPN connection? Read Answer
  • How to upgrade the firmware for my router? Read Answer
  • My router is dropping connections, how to fix this? Read Answer
  • What can I do if I’m having wireless connection problems? Read Answer
  • What is smart connect? Read Answer
  • What model support bridge mode? Read Answer
  • Why am I unable to register my device with dlinkddns? Read Answer
  • Why won’t my VoIP device work with my router? Read Answer