How do I reset my router to factory default settings?

Example: If you forget the password for you router’s configuration interface, you can do a factory reset to return the settings to the factory defaults.
Note: Performing a factory reset will erase all current settings, and this action cannot be undone.

Step 1: With the unit on, use the end of a paperclip to press the reset button, which is located inside a small hole on the base of the unit.


Step 2: Using the paperclip, press and hold the reset button for more than ten seconds. The power light on the front of the router will turn orange to indicate that the unit is restarting.

Step 3: The unit will reboot automatically. Once the Internet light stops blinking, the unit has been reset and is ready to use. Resetting the router does not reset the firmware to an earlier version, but it will change all settings back to factory defaults.

Note: The factory default username is Admin, and the password field should be left blank.

Rank: 3